

Platteville Museum Board Minutes

April 17, 2024

Board/Friends Members Present: Brad Brogley, Garrett Jones, Kathy Connett, Bob Gates, Larry

Bowden, Bill Van Deest

Others Present: Director Cody Grabhorn, Christina Grev

Call to order at 4:45 by Brad Brogley

Minutes of the February 2024 Museum Board meetings approved on motion by Larry Bowden, seconded by Bob Gates.

Director's Monthly Report

- Director Cody Grabhorn provided a museums progress report, including an update on recent auction sales and current finances.
 - Director Grabhorn and staff are gearing up for the summer tour season. Two tour guides (one returning and one new) have been offered positions for the 2024 season.
 - Cody Grabhorn and Christina Grev are working with the fraternity Sigma Tau Gamma to hold a volunteer work day this coming weekend.

Collections Monthly Report

- Christina and collections stewardship staff have met the goal for cataloging artifacts as identified in the IMLS Inspire! Grant for Small Museums. With the upcoming tour season, staff will focus on creating book supports for newspapers and books with deteriorating spines.
- Museums collections specialist Christina Grev recommended accessioning a blue metal hoist sign (donated by Jon French). The Board accepted this recommendation on motion by Bill Van Deest, seconded by Kathy Connett.

Friends of the Mining & Rollo Jamison Museums Report

- Cody Grabhorn and Brad Brogley shared an update on the Friends Board.
 - The Miner's Ball brought in \$13,641. The 2025 Miner's Ball will be held February 15.
 - The Pasty sale distribution took place last Saturday. The museums sold 1,062 pasties.
 - o There will be a brat sale April 26 at Edward Jones Bob Hundhausen.
 - o A committee is meeting April 19 to continue planning for the Gem and Mineral Sale.

New Business

• Cody Grabhorn started as Museums Director on April 1. Welcome Cody!

Adjournment at 5:20 p.m. on motion by Garrett Jones, second from Bill Van Deest. Next meeting will be Wednesday, May 15, 2024.

Submitted by Garrett Jones, Board Secretary